FAQ and policies
If you choose to book online a reservation is not guaranteed until we call you back.
Please arrive for your rental 15 minutes prior to the scheduled departure time to ensure the entire rental time is allotted. In some cases we can only wait 15 minutes after your arrival time before we have another boat to deliver.
Renters and any additional drivers must be at least 25 years old with a valid Driver’s License and By Law must complete a Florida approved Boater Safety Training Course IF you were born after Jan 1st 1988. If you are 32 years old or younger you can take the free Boater Safety Training Course by visiting https://www.boatus.org/florida/
Bring a charged cell phone and keep it on at all times in case we need to reach you.
If you hear thunder you must come in. Florida is the Lightning capitol of the world, and our storms can be dangerous.
Each rental boat leaves the dock with a full tank of fuel. Once the boat is returned and refueled the renter is responsible for the amount of fuel consumed during the rental time.
Changes to existing reservations boat type, rental date or time must be made at least 10 days prior to the original reservation.
Any cancellation made less than 10 days will be put back on the calendar and we will try to re rent the boat you reserved. If it cannot be re rented a cancellation non weather related will result in a forfeit of the total reservation amount and cannot be credited towards future reservations.
For you convenience we offer multiple locations to launch from. Please pick the location that best suites the area you will be traveling to. Our Tow insurance can only tow you back from a 15 mile radius.
We can not be held responsible for conditions out of our control. If there is bad weather predicted on the day of your departure or if your boat has mechanical issues; you will be issued a full refund. Any bad reviews left due to our inability to provide a boat for those reasons will result in no refund.
You will be given full instructions on how to safely handle the boat. They are equipped with gps for easy navigation. Any damage caused by the renter will be charged to the renter.
You need to arrive 15 minutes prior to our launch time and be back 15 minutes prior to pick up time.
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
What else do I need to bring?
We always recommend you bring a fully charged cell phone in case of emergencies. Non spray on sun screen, towels to sit on, and a cooler with drinks is recommended. We also can provide as an add on; Fishing tackle, stand up paddle boards, raft, ice chest with ice and drinks.
What time should I arrive for my rental?
It is recommended that you arrive for your rental at least 15 minutes prior to the scheduled departure time to ensure the entire rental time is allotted. Many times we have to leave your location and deliver another boat to another location. If you are more than 15 minutes late we may not be able to wait for you.
Will someone teach me how to drive the boat?
Absolutely! We go over an instructional presentation educating our customers on the detailed operating procedures, the local boating laws and regulations, Navigational markers, as well as Boater’s safety and etiquette. Our boats are also equipped with navigational equipment similar to what is in your car. This
will help you easily navigate to points of interest and return home.
Does Apollo Beach Boat Rentals provide a Captain to drive the boat for me?
We inform you of how to operate the boat and places to go but do not have captains that drive the boat for you.
Can someone in my group other than the renter drive the boat?
Yes. Anyone in your group may drive the boat as long as they are at least 25 years old, have a valid driver’s license on file with Apollo Beach boat rentals.
Can I bring alcohol on the boat? Yes. There is no open container law, but remember that BUI laws are even more strict for boat drivers than they are on the road. The captain can not drink alcohol. If you are arrested for BUI not only will you have your court cost, but you will have to pay for the days our boat was impounded.
How old do you have to be to rent a boat?
25 years old to Rent or Drive.
Do you provide life jackets?
Yes, the boats are supplied with all required safety equipment.
Do your boats have bimini tops for shade?
Yes all our boats have shade covering.
Do you rent water toys or fishing gear?
Yes just let us know what you need prior to your trip
Will a pontoon pull a skier?
No, but they are fantastic for tubing. We also have a ski boat that is dedicated to those that would
rather spend the day wakeboarding, surfing, or tubing.
Do you allow pets on the boat?
Smaller pets if they are not shedding.
Where can I take the boat?
A rule of thumb is within a 15 mile radius of your launch site. This enables us to tow you back in the
unlikely event you break down. Please pick a launch site that is near the area you want to explore.
Do you allow grills on the boat?
No. However a lot of the islands and parks do allow you to bring them there.
Do the boats have covers?
Yes, all of our boats are equipped with bimini tops covering part of the boat.
Do the boats have restrooms?
The pontoon boat and beachcat have them availble. There is a $25 fee for their use, as that is what we
pay our help to clean them out after each trip.
How many people can I put on the boat?
Each boat type has a specific maximum passenger and weight capacity that may not be exceeded at any time. Please make sure that your total weight does not exceed the capacity listed on our listings.
How long can I rent and what time can I start my rental?
We offer half day morning or afternoon (4 hours) for local deliveries, full day (8 hours), 24 hour (9am to 9am or 6pm to 6pm) rental packages. We also offer deep discounts for longer term rentals. If renting for a week or more we can deliver up to 150 miles from Tampa.
How much do I have to pay when making a reservation?
We take a credit card number as a deposit, but you are only charged when we deliver the boat to you.
What happens if I need to change or cancel my reservation?
Changes to an existing reservations, boat type, rental date or time must be made at least 48 hours before the reservation date and time. Canceling your reservation will ALWAYS result in a cancellation fee. The fee amount will depend on when the reservation is cancelled. Any cancellation made more than 48 hours before the reservation date will result in a cancellation fee that is 10% of the total reservation amount. Any cancellation made less than 48 hours before the reservation date will result in a forfeit of the total reservation amount and cannot be credited towards future reservations. Changes in date, location or type of boat can be made at anytime based on availability.
Do the boats have radios?
Yes. Most have usb ports and blue tooth.
Is gas included?
Each rental boat leaves the dock with a full tank of fuel. Upon return we will refill the fuel tank and the renter is responsible for the amount consumed.
On average, how much gas does the boat use?
It is nearly impossible to quote an average fuel consumption because there are so many variables to consider (Usage, weight, water conditions, wind speed, etc.). A conservative average would be about 4 gallons per hour of engine time. Our average client spends about $35 in fuel. You only pay for what you actually used.
What happens if there is persistent inclement weather while I am renting a boat?
We will issue a credit voucher based on the amount of time lost that can be applied towards a future rental.
Do I need a fishing license and do you sell them?
A fishing license is required if you plan on fishing. We do not sell fishing licenses however you can obtain one at a local bait shop, Wal-Mart or you can purchase one directly from https://gooutdoorsflorida.com/ online.
Will my car or home insurance cover the boat?
It depends on your individual insurance provider. Most insurance providers will cover rental cars but not necessarily rental boats. We do offer insurance through a third party agency at $40 per day.
What if I break down and need a tow in?
This would be a very rare occurrence as we keep our boats very well maintained. However you can call seatow or towboat usa. If you choose to purchase tow insurance ahead of time it is just $25. An average tow from towboat is $250 so insurance could save you a lot.
The main rule to remember is to just treat the boat as it was your own.